FAW/McDonald's Club Accreditation Programme

Growing the game and raising standards in Welsh football

The FAW Club Accreditation scheme supported by McDonald’s is a charter mark programme, which recognises and rewards high quality levels of provision in club football. The kitemark is awarded to clubs that are well run, sustainable, which place child protection, quality coaching and safety at the heart of their values.

There are four levels to the FAW Club Accreditation Scheme to recognise the different standards. The entry level Standard Award is mandatory for all Clubs who wish to enter into one of the 33 FAW affiliated Junior Leagues in Wales. Criteria for achieving the standard award include having a trained Safeguarding Officer, DBS checks for all volunteers, Emergency Aid-trained volunteers linked to each team, a FAW Football Leaders qualified coach for each team and appropriate club administration in place.

Beyond this the next levels are Bronze and Silver with the most advanced level being Gold Award. Each advanced level requires additional criteria to be met. Following the 2014/15 season there are 94 Bronze clubs, 33 Silver Clubs and 12 Gold Standard clubs across Wales.

The ‘hidden’ benefits are key to most clubs working towards accreditation. By achieving an accredited status, you are demonstrating to all members, parents, sponsors and the public, that you are a well-organised, safe club offering opportunities for all. For more information on how to become accredited click on 'Get Accredited' below.

Get Involved...

Are you looking to volunteer in Football in 2015


Our Partners